Wk 10-Artist Conversation 7

img_1067Artist: Yingying Fu

Exhibit: The other side of the Pacific Ocean

Media: Canvas; Oil

About the Artist 

Yingying Fu is an artist who recently came from china three years ago. She is a masters of fine arts student with an option in drawing and painting in figurative. She got her inspiration of the drawings from taking pictures of people and other scenes at the beach; which all pictures depict.

Formal Analysis 

All the paintings in the gallery amused me. Every single painting looked so realistic. For a second I thought every painting was an oversized picture until I looked fairly close. Not only did they realistic, but the color choice made the image on the canvas stand out. The color is was gives it the most realistic effect. All paintings made me feel as if I was there in the scene.

Content Analysis 

She explains how all the paintings show the lifestyle here in California. If you see it from her perspective, she is a Chinese native who has a completely different lifestyle. For her to come to Los Angeles is a major change in her life, so the paintings represent what life is here compared to over there.

My Experience

i really enjoyed walking through this gallery because of the marvelous painintgs. The paintings made me feel as if I was actually there. I’m from Los Angeles, so I know what it’s like to live the California lifestyle. Not only were the paintings beautiful, but I loved the fact that I did not have to break my head to figure out what the artist was trying to portray.

Leave a Reply

